Smile Magazine August issue

Cebu Pacific Air’s inflight magazine, Smile Magazine, has changed its look this year, and one of the many things I loved about their redesign was the incorporation of hand lettering and calligraphy on their covers. I was approached to do their August issue cover lettering and I happily obliged — I’ve never done any cover work before! The art director gave me a rough sketch of how they wanted the lettering to look like, and from there I came up with this modern script with a bit of flourish, laid out on a curve to match the photography. The finish was done in pencil to keep the rough texture.

Client: Smile Magazine/Ink Publishing

Smile August cover

Smile August cover

Smile August cover

Leave a Reply

